Need help finding the right tutor?

When do you want to start?
What is your name?
What is your zip code?
What is your email address?
What is your phone number?
Have you received tutoring before?

Thanks! You'll be called typically within 24 hours by the tutor or company you contacted.

Featured By
Brenda tutors in Colonial Heights, VA

Brenda D.

Private tutor in Colonial Heights, VA


University of Virginia - BA, Psychology , George Washington University - MA, Adult Education and HR Development


My academic career started with earning my Bachelor of Arts degree in psychology from the University of Virginia. Eventually, I continued my education by going to graduate school at The George Washington University. There I received my Master of Arts degree in adult education and human resource development while holding down a full-time job. My professional career began with working in customer service, which paved the way for supervisory and training coordinator positions. I advanced to management in the information systems field, which evolved into human resource management. Along the way, I discovered that I had a penchant for training and development so I decided to switch career paths. I revisited the career choice I was originally interested in, K-12 education. My first foray into teaching started with business and information technology. I started at the high school level and then moved to the middle school level, where I taught math and reading comprehension in the after-school remediation program. I additionally taught all CORE subjects to homebound individuals. When an opportunity was available to me to apply for a full-time position teaching pre-algebra and math at the seventh grade level, I took the Praxis II teaching exam and passed to become eligible to teach math at the sixth through eighth grade levels. I've been a math teacher now for four years, and I am also a GED instructor on a part-time basis.As far as tutoring is concerned, I enjoy the one-on-one experience with students that tutoring offers. I view tutoring as a mutual partnership between teacher and student, and I treat it as a privilege. .In my spare time, I enjoy reading, following politics, gardening, and spending time caring for my pets.


Weekdays at any time, Weekends at any time

Can Meet

Up to 30 minutes away at my regular hourly rate


Reading, following politics, gardening, pets.

Show More

Inquire About This Tutor


Most tutors respond within 48 hours.

Feel free to contact other tutors while you wait.

If this is your first request, please check your email (including your spam folder) to finish setting up your account!